Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alexis tutors in Quincy, MA

Alexis B.

Private tutor in Quincy, MA

Education

Trinity College - BA, Religion , Middlebury College - MA, English

Experience

I studied for my undergraduate degree at Trinity College, and I've since spent six years teaching fourth through sixth grade. I also had the opportunity after graduating to work in Europe, New Zealand, and India. I then attended Middlebury College to earn my master's degree in English, and I'm looking forward to studying theological studies at Harvard in the near future. I have an appreciation for learning, and I also understand the value of the drive to learn more. I believe all children want to be successful, but sometimes they lack the confidence to achieve their goals. The traditional classroom model is not particularly helpful with this, but I've discovered that a student centered approach can help the students. I prioritize helping students learn how to learn. Rather than lecturing to students, I help them develop the skills to think critically, organize their ideas, and be analytical and general. I specialize in helping students learn English, and by that I mean help students become better writers, readers, and analysts of literature. Students may struggle to learn for number of different reasons, and it's up to me as the educator to figure out how to help students work through those obstacles. Tutoring allows me to give students undivided attention that is focused on their needs, their goals, and their learning style. With this, I have the opportunity to provide the student with everything they need to succeed. Tutoring also provides the opportunity of creating an environment where students feel motivated because they're having fun, being rewarded, and making progress.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Traveling, cooking, reading, writing, sports, studying languages, religious/cultural studies

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!